A year without blogging

For a little over a year I have not blogged. Have not even commented very often.

For the first three or four months it was a relief simply because I had, repeatedly, said much the same thing on much the same topics to much the same people for the proceeding year. Nothing wrong with that but not terrifically interesting for me or, I fear, my readers.

So off I went and spent a year building a business (which hit a wall recently and is being rebuilt on stronger foundations), threw the football around with my kids, sailed little tiny Flying Juniors and watched the great and the good lose more and more of the thread.

To some extent I kept up checking in at Kathy’s, Arnie’s and Kate’s. Reading Instapundit and Watts Up with That; but mainly I left the assorted blog battles to others.

In large part because I was coming to believe that in the rush to score points (and avoid litigation) a good deal of the fun and the promise had been lost to blogging. I don’t think this was, by and large, deliberate – although Richard Warman’s apparent unwillingness to proceed expeditiously with any of his lawsuits suggests a degree of contentment with the mere silence of the bloggers involved, but then Lucy never was a blogger in any serious sense. Rather I think it arises because tribalism overwhelms the very real possibilities of the medium.

At the same time, the wholesale adoption of Twitter by the blogosphere and MSM journalists has mean that snark has found its perfect venue. 144 characters pretty much defines one liner and defeats argument. Twitter and IPO darling Facebook are certainly distracting; but they suck a good deal of air out of the blogging enterprise.

The proliferation of MSM blogs was entirely foreseeable – it is a publishing platform first and foremost – but the sheer number of those blogs limits the capacity of anyone but the retired and the unemployed to really stay current.

There is a lot of noise out there.

So why come back?

Certainly not to add to the noise. While I am delighted to have the link from Blazing Catfur to kick this off  (and I hope to have many more) what I realized over my sabatical is that I enjoy the writing for itself. And I enjoy my readers’ comments.

My own sense is that blogging in Canada has been incredibly successful in a few quite narrow  areas: s.13 really is dead and the credit for making its destruction a matter of principle goes, in part, to bloggers. On a much larger scale, the political defeat of the CAGW hysterics and the underscoring of the very real uncertainty – not to mention out and out fraud – which characterizes some of the more incendiary “science” upon which their claims have been based – has been driven by bloggers. (Of course it has not hurt that windmills don’t work and temperature has ceased to rise significantly for the last 17 years; but those facts have needed to be brought to public attention.)

Where blogging has been less successful is on the broader questions. We still have so-called conservative governments unwilling to reduce the size of government. We still have governments which believe they have a positive right to tell their citizens how to live and what to think.

So there is lots to write about and lots to do.

Tagged , , ,

13 thoughts on “A year without blogging

  1. The LS from SK says:

    A just when I thought that it was safe to go out again.

    Welcome back Jay.

  2. Benjamin says:

    Nice to see you back in action Jay.

  3. Marky Mark says:

    Welcome back. Seems to me that in the interval debate has only degenerated and the centre is being squeezed out.

    • jaycurrie says:

      I suspect you are right MM. I see this a lot on the climate side of things where the really crazy warmistas have taken to forging documents to try and discredit the people they disagree with.

      What has been interesting to watch is the growth of Sun-TV and the fact that a genuinely alternative point of view has managed to make it on to television. I may not agree with much or anything on Sun but it has the virtue of widening the debate.

      And, if you look at what has happened in the US where Fox has run away with the ratings leaving CNN and MSNBC floundering, it is pretty clear that the soft lib brand is losing its appeal.

      But as I have said, a lot of this is tribal rather than substantive.

  4. J.M. Heinrichs says:

    So, again I have to rearrange my blog reading routine.

    Cheers

  5. Welcome back to the online commentariat Jay.

  6. pettifog says:

    it’s great to see you back!

  7. Sammy says:

    One other area where conservative bloggers have been unsuccessful, despite solid efforts, is the continuing existence of Muslims. Despite hard work by bloggers like Blazing Cat Fur, there are still Muslims on this planet, and even some in Vancouver. I hope that in re-joining the blogging crowd, you will continue your previous work in trying to correct this.

    • jaycurrie says:

      And the nice thing about returning to blogging in a post s.13 world is that I can publish idiotic comments like this one without the niggling fear that the HateSiffer will take it amiss.

  8. Sammy says:

    I don’t get it…. have you changed your mind of the possibility of co-existing with Muslims? Cause, if I recall (and it’s been a while, so feel free to correct me), it really didn’t seem like that was something you were interested in.

    • jaycurrie says:

      Apparently you don’t read very well.

      I certainly suggested a moratorium on immigration from Islamic states until we had the manpower to do proper security checks. And I have suggested that a medieval attitude towards women is not compatible with the cultural values I hold. But I fear you would have to look a very long time to find anything saying it is impossible to “co-exist” with Muslims. What an odd idea: we have been co-existing for the last 1400 years.

      • Sammy says:

        It certainly is an odd idea. I find it odd every time that a bigoted right-wing anti-Muslim blogger suggests it (you know the type). Anyhoo…. hope you enjoy getting back to anti-Muslims blogging. There are tons of Muzzies out there who may be under the impression that this country is full and kind, decent people who won’t judge and defame them based on nothing but their religious affiliation that need to be put in their place.

  9. dcardno says:

    Hey Jay – welcome back!

    Where blogging has been less successful is on the broader questions. We still have so-called conservative governments unwilling to reduce the size of government. We still have governments which believe they have a positive right to tell their citizens how to live and what to think.

    True, but as you note, we have at least one government who is pulling back on telling us what to think – or at least, on how to express our thoughts – by way of the repeal of S. 13 of the CHRA, and we have seen the wheels fall off the CAGW bus.

    First things first, I’d say.

    Cheers,

    Dean

Leave a Reply

