Why Churches are dying

Among the most insidious aspects of the new leftist Jew-hate is its tactic of trotting out ridiculous Jewish anti-Zionist fanatics and displaying them like comical banners at the front of an April Fool’s parade. In that vein, the United Church’s of Canada’s Comox-Nanaimo Presbytery’s declaration that they “work with Jewish organizations such as Independent Jewish Voices, which are committed to seeing Justice for the people of Palestine” is less offensive than if Shutzstaffelleader Heinrich Himmler had said “we are working with our Jewish labor camp kapos, who are committed to seeing justice for the Aryan people,” but we are only talking about degrees. eye on a crazy planet

The nice little old ladies who staff the Church sale down the hill often invite my wife to come to Sunday service. She was raised in the United Church and the invitation is attractive. The problem is, as it is in my own Anglican Church, that the clergy and the governing organizations of both churches have largely abandoned the worship of God for the more worldly delights of radical politics.

Is the United Church anti-semitic? I suspect not as a body but its leadership lacks all discernment.  The joke about the United Church being the NDP at prayer barely hints at the perils of the embrace of people like Diana Ralph and Independent Jewish Voices.

The nice ladies at the Church sale are vaguely aware of the damage the various “social justice” agendas has done to their Church. They can see their attendance dwindling and the aging of their congregation. The Anglicans I know see much the same thing. The ongoing consolidation of the Anglican church – which actually means closing churches – reflects the utter disinterest many Anglicans have in being hectored by radical clergy.

So, this Sunday, we’ll be voting with our feet and staying home. Which is sad because I think it is important for the boys to participate in a tradition of worship. But not at any cost.

One thought on “Why Churches are dying

  1. dcardno says:

    I was raised in a United Church tradition… My Dad and Mum moved to North Van when there was no UC in the area, and as a son of Presbyterians and a daughter of Methodists, a UC in the neighbourhood was important to them. Along with my aunt and uncle, and many others in the community, they raised the funds for Highlands United Church, in Edgemont Village. I went to Sunday school, my sister and cousins were in the church choir, Dad and my uncle were elders, my aunt led the choir, and Mum taught in the Sunday school: if anyone, I should be a congregant of the UC. But as you say, the UC heirarchs have abandoned worship of God for secular (and radical) politics. I could accept ‘attention to the poor and bereft’ as a Christian obligation; but then it became ‘attack the successful’ – and that’s not a Christian, but a Marxist view of the world.
    So now, my Sunday mornings are for sleeping in, and I send a cheque to the Sally Ann and the Union Gospel Mission every year. I don’t (necessarily) agree with their theology – but they are honest about it, they thank me without attacking the fact that I have accumulated enough to contribute to them, and from what I can see, they help the poor. Perhaps the UC does, too – but I don’t really care; they have long-since whithered on the vine.

Leave a Reply

