Hero

48125366.cached

The Chris to remember is 30-year-old Chris Mintz, the student and Army vet who was shot at least five times while charging straight at the gunman in an effort to save others.

Mintz did so on the sixth birthday of his son, Tyrik.

“It’s my son’s birthday, it’s my son’s birthday,” he was heard to say as he lay wounded.

When word of Mintz’s heroism reached his kin in his native North Carolina, his cousin Derek Bourgeois was hardly surprised.

“It sounds like something he would do,” Bourgeois said. daily beast

Ancient as I am I hope I would have the courage to do that. I hope my sons would as well.

There really is only one right response to murder. You try to take down the gunman.

Not that it is much of an honour these days, but I hope Mintz is invited to the White House and given his well deserved 15 minutes of fame. More than that, I pray he survives his injuries and enjoys, belatedly, his son’s birthday.

 

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Hero

  1. peterodonnell says:

    pResident Obama waded in with his far-left narrative, probably before anyone told him the actual dynamics of this event. They sure don’t fit his narratives, maybe he should quit while he’s behind.

    The only thing that appears to be crying out for change (besides Obama) is this idiotic policy of gun free zones on campuses. It ain’t working. Armed security guards and perhaps some sane people with their weapons would have cut down on the carnage in many of these cases and perhaps convinced the mentally unstable or politically motivated to refrain from what they must now view as easy pickings with resistance a predictable half hour away.

    Sure, they can tweak the laws but they won’t change the deeply rooted American desire to bear arms, especially not in this era of armed thugs, drug dealers and crazies. I don’t pack here in Canada (yet) but I sure as hell would if I lived in a similar place in the U.S., and the way things are trending in Vancouver, the thought has occurred to me.

Leave a Reply

